1. FC Köln HYPE SPIN Accelerator

The funding programme for innovative sporting start-ups

The world of sport is currently undergoing a change. The process of digitalisation and the new demands of clubs don't just change the way we training and how we measure performance, but also the experience in the stadium, the communication and marketing. Start-ups across the world are coming up with exciting new ideas and business models, giving impulse to the entire sporting world. 1. FC Köln have been promoting this development since 2018 and supported the young companies with its own funding programme.

The 1. FC Köln HYPE Spin Accelerator is the first Sport Tech Accelerator in the Bundesliga and offers innovative companies an intensive 12-week programme. This gives them the opportunity test their ideas and business models in the real world and to get advice from professionals and experts from the worlds of business and sports.

"We are excited to promote the next generation of sport start-ups along with the HYPE Foundation," said FC managing director, Alexander Wehrle. "We will bring our know-how, in order to support the ideas from which we can profit from as a club. That also applies to the entire sporting sector. And we want to learn as much as possible from the creative companies, who are thinking about the future of sport. The fact that we were able to create a SPIN-Accelerator-Programme, in STARTPLATZ Köln with our partners here, is a huge chance for a big sporting city like Köln."

From more than 200 applicants, 22 exciting start-ups were selected for the first two cycles of the funding programmes.

Die Startups aus Batch 2

  • Armony
  • Betegy
  • Bono health
  • Captn
  • Defrey
  • Fassoo
  • filmily
  • Loewi
  • ontracks
  • Skillcorner

The start-ups from Batch 1

  • AGAP
  • Ambiotex
  • Digifood
  • Kernwerk
  • Kiss my score
  • Ladwork
  • moduu
  • Talento Today
  • Tracktics

  • The programme

    Every start-up will go through intensive workshops, seminars and keynotes with experts and 1. FC Köln and have the opportunity to have their ideas and business models tested, whilst receiving direct feedback. An eight-person jury - made up of 1. FC Köln, HYPE and other experts - will decide which companies will take part.

    This start-up programme - along with the numerous workshops - offers room to work and methodical training, along with further mentors and people from market leaders across the world as guest speakers. Therefore, FC works with HYPE Sports Innovation (a global Sport-Tech platform), who unite sports innovation across the world and make that possible with the Hype-Capital-Fond for investment. With around 900 partners on different levels, 1. FC Köln and the HYPE SPIN Accelerator can offer start-ups a network to profit from.

    At the end of an Accelerator cycle, start-ups present their progress at Demo Day, in front of an illustrious audicence of investors and partners. The best start-up and best pitch will be singled out, and rewarded.

  • Mentor wall

    The four-month-long start-up programme - along with the numerous workshops - offers room to work and methodical training, along with further mentors and people from market leaders across the world as guest speakers. The mentors offer the start-ups high-quality and individual mentoring in differing areas of expertise. Many are world leaders in their area of business.

  • Partners

    HYPE Sports Innovation has built up the biggest global ecosystem for sports innovation, with over 29,000 members. Amongst the members are businesses, sports clubs, associations and high schools. Along with that, more than 9,000 start-ups are part of the platform. Since its founding, HYPE Sports Innovation has continuously expanded and created new offers within the sports branch for investors, partners and users. Their cilent-base can boast the likes of UEFA, Adidas, Spalding, Silicon Valley Bank, Asics, Google and many more. You can find out more information about HYPE Sports Innovation here.

    STARTPLATY is a start-up incubator and Accelerator, as well as a meeting point of the founding scene in the Rheinland. In around 4,500 sqm at the Mediapark in Köln, there is room for leading start-ups and innovation companies to grow, learn, coach, take part in workshops and events and to grow their own network. More than 200 start-ups work on their business ideas from there, with more than 175 teams involved. In co-operation with 1. FC Köln, STARTPLATZ offers the start-ups from the HYPE SPIN Accelerator programme the space in order to make their ideas possible. More information on STARTPLATZ can be found here.

  • recommend

1. FC Köln HYPE SPIN Accelerator

Das Förderprogramm für innovative Startups aus der Sportwelt

Die Welt des Sports befindet sich im Umbruch. Digitalisierungsprozesse und neue Anforderungsprofile verändern nicht nur Trainingssteuerung und Leistungsdiagnostik, sondern auch das Stadionerlebnis, die Kommunikation und die Vermarktung. Startups aus der ganzen Welt verfügen über spannende neue Ideen und Businessmodelle und geben Impulse für die gesamte Branche. Der 1. FC Köln fördert diese Entwicklung seit 2018 und unterstützt ausgewählte Jung-Unternehmen in einem eigenen Förderprogramm. 

Der 1. FC Köln HYPE Spin Accelerator ist der erste Sport Tech Accelerator innerhalb der deutschen Bundesliga und bietet innovativen Unternehmern ein 12-wöchiges Intensivprogramm, um ihre Ideen und Geschäftsmodelle in einer realen Umgebung zu prüfen und mit professionellen Sport- und Businessexperten aus dem Netzwerk voranzutreiben. 

„Wir sind gespannt darauf, mit HYPE Foundation gemeinsam die nächste Generation von Sport-Startups zu fördern“, sagt FC-Geschäftsführer Alexander Wehrle. „Wir werden unser Know-How einbringen, um Ideen zu unterstützen, von denen wir als Club und die Sportbranche insgesamt profitieren können. Und wir wollen so viel wie möglich von den kreativen Unternehmern lernen, die sich Gedanken über die Zukunft des Sports machen. Dass wir mit unseren Partnern ein SPIN-Accelerator-Programm im STARTPLATZ Köln starten, ist für die Sportstadt Köln eine große Chance.“

Aus weit mehr als 200 Bewerbungen wurden 22 spannende Startups für die ersten beiden Zyklen des Föderprogramms ausgewählt. 

Die Startups aus Batch 2


Die Startups aus Batch 1


  • Das Programm

    Jedes Startup durchläuft mit Branchen-Experten des 1. FC Köln intensive Workshops, Seminare und Keynotes und hat vor allem die Möglichkeit, seine Idee, sein Geschäftsmodell auf Herz und Nieren prüfen zu lassen, um sich ein direktes Feedback einzuholen. Eine achtköpfige Jury, bestehend aus dem 1.FC Köln, HYPE und weiteren Experten, entscheidet, welche Teams am Programm teilnehmen.

    Dieses  Startup-Programm bietet neben zahlreichen Workshops, Arbeitsräumen und methodischem Training zusätzlich Mentoren und Vertreter zahlreicher internationaler Branchenführer als Gastdozenten. Dafür arbeitet der FC mit HYPE Sports Innovation zusammen, einer globalen Sport-Tech-Plattform, die Sportinnovationen weltweit verbindet und das gesamte Angebot mit dem Hype-Capital-Fond für Investitionsmöglichkeiten abschließt. Mit rund 900 Partnern auf verschiedenen Partnerebenen verfügt der 1. FC Köln über ein starkes Netzwerk, von der im HYPE SPIN Accelerator auch die ausgewählten Startups profitieren sollen.

    Zum Abschluss eines Accelerator-Zyklus präsentieren die Startups beim Demo Day ihre Fortschritte vor einem hochkarätigen Publikum mit Investoren und Partnern. Das beste Startup und die beste Präsentation (Pitch) werden ausgezeichnet und prämiert.

  • Mentorenwall

    Das viermonatige Startup-Programm bietet neben zahlreichen Workshops, Arbeitsräumen und methodischem Training zusätzlich Mentoren und Vertreter zahlreicher internationaler Branchenführer als Gastdozenten. Die Mentoren bieten den Startups hochqualitatives und individuelles Mentoring zu unterschiedlichen Fachbereichen. Zu ihnen zählen erfahrene Experten und Vertreter von internationalen Branchenführern aus dem Sportbusiness.

  • Partner

    HYPE Sports Innovation hat das größte globale Ökosystem für Sportinnovationen mit über 29.000 Mitgliedern aufgebaut. Unter die Mitglieder fallen Einzelhandelsmarken, Sportvereine, Verbände und Hochschulen. Zudem gehören mehr als 9.000 Startups der Plattform an. Seit seiner Gründung hat HYPE Sports Innovation zahlreiche Angebote und Dienstleistungen aus der Sportbranche für Investoren, Partner und Verbraucher geschaffen und stetig erweitert. Zu den Kunden zählen die UEFA, Adidas, Spalding, die Silicon Valley Bank, Asics, Google und viele mehr. Mehr Informationen zu HYPE Sports Innovation gibt es hier.

    Der STARTPLATZ ist ein Startup Inkubator und Accelerator sowie Treffpunkt der rheinischen Gründerszene. Auf rund 4.500 qm wird im Kölner Mediapark aufstrebenden Startups und innovativen Unternehmen Raum zum Wachsen, Beratung und Coaching, Workshops & Events sowie Anschluss an das große Netzwerk gegeben. Mehr als 200 Startups arbeiteten dort an ihren Geschäftsideen und mehr als 175 Teams wurden im Accelerator bereits gefördert. In Kooperation mit dem 1. FC Köln stellt der STARTPLATZ den Startups aus dem HYPE SPIN Accelerator Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung, um ihre Ziele erfolgreich umzusetzen und voranzutreiben. Mehr Informationen zu STARTPLATZ gibt es hier.

  • Empfehlen