Junior | 04/06/2019

German Championship

U17: Semi-final clash against Bayern

1. FC Köln’s under-17s are in the semi-final of the German championship. They travel to Munich to face FC Bayern in the first leg on Wednesday at 17:00 CEST. The return leg is on Saturday morning in Köln. The English Twitter account will keep fans updated on the action.

It’s the highlight of the season for 1. FC Köln’s under-17s. The FC talents will take on FC Bayern Munich for a place in the final of the German championship. “Our boys are really looking forward to the clash,” said head coach, Martin Heck. “They should be free and play without pressure. We’ve already achieved something huge and now have the chance to add the cherry on the cake.”

Bayern Munich were champions of the South/South West section and finished ahead of TSG Hoffenheim and Eintracht Frankfurt to do so. “Bayern have a technically strong team with a lot of pace – it will be a really tough task,” added Heck. His team finished second in the West section, behind Borussia Dortmund, with 19 wins, two draws and five losses. Heck commented: “Our boys worked really hard to qualify and played some top football. We also want to show that against Bayern.”

Champions of 2017 vs Champions of 2011

The semi-final first-leg on Wednesday will be played at Bayern’s state-of-the-art youth academy in Northern Munich. Bayern’s under-17s are in the semi-finals of the German Championship for the third year in a row – in the past two seasons, they’ve made it to the final. After Bayern won the title back in 2017, they were beaten to the trophy by Borussia Dortmund in a 2:3 defeat.

This season, the under-17s want to repeat their success from 2017. Germany’s record goalscorer has been a coach of the Bayern under-17s for a year, and is hoping for a strong end to the season. 1. FC Köln won their last B-Junioren Championship in 2011, beating Werder Bremen in the final. The second-leg against Bayern will be on Saturday at 11:00 CEST in Franz-Kremer-Stadion.

  • share


Total table
10Hertha BSC35
111. FC Köln34
12FC Augsburg31